Roses

Started by Wilma, April 21, 2010, 01:39:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Wilma

I just overspent my Visa allowance for this month and bought myself some roses.  Now I need some advice on the best way to plant them.  I have planted roses before, some successfully, some not so.  What do you think is the best way to plant roses?

larryJ

IN THE GROUND!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!   

Sorry, Wilma, I just couldn't let that one slip by.   ;D ;D ;D ;D ;D

Larryj
HELP!  I'm talking and I can't shut up!

I came...  I saw...  I had NO idea what was going on...

Rudy Taylor

I plant mine in fertile ground (even if I have to import it), then apply good Miracle Gro or something similar. I also use an inexpensive fungicide to spray on the leaves. That helps keep away the black spots.  And most importantly, I spread Rose Food granules around the base of the plant to keep disease and insects away.

But I'm no rose expert.  Just sharing our flower garden experiences.
It truly is "a wonderful life."

Wilma

I expected that from you, Larry.  That's why I left it open.  Thanks, Rudy.

Diane Amberg

Pick an area with almost full sun if possible and about 18'' apart, or more. For me, I plant about 18 '' deep or about to where the graft knuckle is. Nice big hole in good or amended soil, well drained. Make a pointed mound of soil in the hole and spread the roots out over it pressing down firmly but gently to hold in place.  Cover up to the knuckle, dishing the dirt a little to hold water. I prune back to the first set of five leaves that face outward, if there are leaves present.  Water in thoroughly and often until they settle in. Try not to wet the leaves. I'm sure others have tips better for Kansas specifically. Do you have Japanese beetles out there?  We do and lots of black spot too. For fertilizer, I do as Rudy does and use a systemic black spot preventer also.

Wilma