West Elk board proposes to close Severy and Moline schools

Started by Rudy Taylor, December 15, 2009, 08:49:18 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MarkHall

The schools follow the population - they don't drive it.

Our population declines, we lose schools. If the towns in Elk county would GROW - so would the schools.

I missed the part where someone posted the solution to a $400,000 shortfall. I'm a business owner, a former teacher, and pretty good with numbers. For the life of me, I don't see any other solution when you're looking at almost half a million shortfall.

Here's the thing that drives me nuts about Elk county - we can't work together on ANYTHING. We fight among ourselves while our children grow up and move away.

If we could direct this energy into economic development.... wow, that'd be something to see!

Varmit

Wilma, I'm not blaming the decline on a loss of schools.  I am just saying that I don't want those towns to lose part of their community, thats all.

Mark the population isn't going to grow without schools, that is a major factor in someones decision to move into an area. 

The economic situtation isn't going to improve when we can't even get decent water. 

Maybe we fight among ourselves because the "good ole boy" system is alive and thriving in this county. 
It is high time we eased the drought suffered by the Tree of Liberty. Let us not stand and suffer the bonds of tyranny, nor ignorance, laziness, cowardice. It is better that we die in our cause then to say that we took counsel among these.

Diane Amberg

Good ol' boy system? There are so few of you, how does that work?

Jo McDonald

Diane, Even a few good ole' boys can do a lot of good.  We're aren't "city-fied" so common sense does kick in and add to the end result.
IT'S NOT WHAT YOU GATHER, BUT WHAT YOU SCATTER....
THAT TELLS WHAT KIND OF LIFE YOU HAVE LIVED!

srkruzich

Quote from: Diane Amberg on December 24, 2009, 04:40:22 PM