Woodstock

Started by D Whetstone, August 18, 2009, 07:41:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

D Whetstone

Its the 40th anniversary of Woodstock. 

Tim (my 9 yr old son) and I were listening to the radio (classic rock) on Saturday.  They were talking about the artists of Woodstock.  He asked me about Woodstock.  Later in the day he asked me, "Dad, did anyone in our family go to Woodstock?"  I replied with, "No. Not that I know of."  His response was, "Too bad. I would really like to hear their stories about it."

So, I thought, why don't I ask the Forum friend. Do any of you have personal stories, stories of family members, or other recollections of Woodstock or the time surrounding it. I thought it would be fun and education for him.  Remember, his 9.  Don't leave out all that happened but don't be too graphic.  ;)

Thanks,

David

Rudy Taylor

I wish I had the personal experiences that your son would like to hear.  In 1969 I worked as a newsman/announcer for a CBS affiliate in Oklahoma City. Even though Woodstock was a long ways from our station, our viewers seemed to hold high interest in the event.

Woodstock emanated two huge stories. One was the mud-mired, drug-smoking, free-sex scene in that pasture located near Bethel, N.Y. That's interesting in itself --- Bethel is located about 45 miles from the town of Woodstock, N.Y.

Older folks around the country were outraged at what they considered to be blatant immorality at Woodstock. However, most of those attending the festival came home with different stories --- relating the cultural,musical and protest music they enjoyed. That, after all, is the hallmark of living in this great country --- being able to express ourselves in whatever format we choose.