another slice of wry

Started by larryJ, June 24, 2009, 04:10:34 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

larryJ

Today's-------------hah............

My first job was working in an orange juice factory, but I got canned.  Couldn't concentrate.
Then I worked in the woods as a lumberjack, but I couldn't hack it.  So I got the ax.
After that I tried being a tailor, but I wasn't suited for it.  It was a sew-sew job, anyway.
I tried working in a muffler factory, but the work was too exhausting.
I got a job at a deli, but I couldn't succeed, no matter how I sliced it.  I just couldn't cut the mustard.
I tried fishing for a living, but there was no way I could live on my net income.
I got a job with a pool service, but the work was just too draining.
I thought about becoming a historian, but I decided there was no future in it.
My last job was at Starbucks, but I had to quit.  I couldn't handle the daily grind.
Now I'm trying retirement.  So far, I'm perfect for this job.

In 1773, the Boston Tea Party took place as American colonists boarded a British ship and dumped more than 300 chests of tea into Boston Harbor to protest tea taxes.

In 1944, the World War II Battle of the Bulge began as German forces launched a surprise attack against Allied forces in Belgium.

Today---------------Civil rights attorney Morris Dees is 75, Actress Joyce Bulifant is 74, Actress Liv Ullmann is 73, CBS news correspondent Lesley Stahl is 70, TV producer Steven Bochco is 68, Pop musician Tony Hicks (The Hollies) is 66, Pop singer Benny Andersson (ABBA) is 65, Actor Ben Cross is 64, Rock musician Bill Bateman (The Blasters) is 60 and Rock musician-singer Billy Gibbons (ZZ Top) is 62.

December 16th is:  Barbie and Barney Backlash Day, National Chocolate-covered Anything Day, Underdog Day and Zionism Day.

Larryj
HELP!  I'm talking and I can't shut up!

I came...  I saw...  I had NO idea what was going on...

larryJ

Today's-------------another hah...........