What Are You Reading?

Started by sixdogsmom, March 27, 2009, 01:30:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

W. Gray

Just finished reading the Sharon Kinne Story.

Sharon Kinne has been featured on Unsolved Mysteries and she was a onetime school classmate and a customer at the grocery store where I worked as a teenager.

In 1960, she murdered her sleeping husband and pinned the killing on her three year old daughter. The police suspected her but could not determine anything different. The child, believe it or not, was familiar with hand guns and pushed the safety off and pulled the trigger of the unloaded murder weapon in the presence of police.

A short time later she murdered the wife of a car salesman she was dating in hope the salesman would marry her. The murder weapon was never found. A jury refused to convict her.

The death of her husband was reopened and she was tried for that murder. A jury convicted her and she went to prison but she won a new trial on appeal and was released on bond. Several families put up their homes to satisfy the bond.

While in prison, she became known as an "enforcer" and she acquired a new "husband" with the name Margaret. 
Out on bond, a new trial for killing her husband resulted in a hung jury. A follow up trial was stopped early in the proceedings.

While awaiting yet another trial and still subject to bond she decided to go to Mexico on vacation with a new acquaintance.  In Mexico she murdered one man and wounded another. The Mexicans sentenced her to thirteen years in prison.

Among the items she had in her possession in Mexico was the murder weapon used to kill the salesman's wife.

Since she did not show up for trial back home in Independence, Missouri, the several families lost all they had to the bondsman.

She escaped from the Mexican prison in 1969 and has not been heard from since.