EVERYONE over 50 NEEDS TO READ THIS!!!!

Started by Warph, February 23, 2009, 01:11:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Warph

A buddy sent this to me:

I feel guilty about it, if you want to know the truth.

Maybe I better explain.

One of the provisions slipped into the pork-packed "stimulus" package authorizes billions for digitizing medical records. It also establishes a National Coordinator for Health Information Technology.

According to Betsy McCaughey, the former lieutenant governor of New York, that's not a good idea. She explains, at Bloomberg.com, that the national coordinator will monitor everyone's medical treatment to make sure doctors are "doing what the federal government deems appropriate and cost effective."

That's why I feel guilty.

I write for a living, you see. Writing is hard. Because I am unable to concentrate at home, I go to a coffee shop or diner every morning. One of my favorite spots is Panera Bread.

But most mornings, I encounter a problem: retirees.

There are dozens of them at Panera Bread. They are in their 60s, 70s and 80s -- one woman is 93. They are healthy and cheerful. They talk loudly and laugh boisterously.

Who can blame them for being so upbeat? They are a reflection of an incredibly successful civilization that, our current recession aside, produced unimaginable wealth -- and unimaginable advances in health care.

Some of the retirees have new hips and knees, no doubt. Their tickers, successfully bypassed and rerouted, are beating as good as new. They've likely outlived a number of maladies that might have been their end if not for the amazing drugs and medical innovations that America has produced.

But I am unable to write when the retirees are socializing at Panera Bread.