For Roma

Started by Teresa, July 21, 2008, 01:02:19 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Teresa

It would have to be if I did it..  :-\
(Like a funeral director on location)  ;D ;D
Well Behaved Women Rarely Make History !

Roma Jean Turner

Tonight we did the Candlelight ride to benefit The Discovery Center. 7 miles downtown area of Springfield   The police and volunteers manned the intersections.  Village Inn had breakfast for us when we got back.  There was every kind of bike under the sun and tons of kids.  I was amazed at how little some of these kids were just peddaling there little hearts out.
    Monday nite is MS Bike Nite at the local Cardinals Game.  We get to ride our bikes around the field.  They will draw one of our names to throw out the first pitch.I,ll keep you posted.

lola330

Awesome, Roma!  I am impressed.  Have a great time.

Roma Jean Turner

Hey Iola330.  I graduated from Chanute in 1962. I'll be there the last weekend in September for the Artist Alley weekend.  I love to go back and see old friends.

Roma Jean Turner

Last night was our first MS Bike Night at the Cardinals Game, (our Springfield Cardinals).  Since over 1,000 people always ride in the big event coming up in September,  I expected to get to the stadium and have at the least two or three hundred bicyclists there.  However, since it was a Monday night game and the first day of school, only 28 of us showed up.  We lined up single file so it would like there was more of us as we rode around the field.  Then the event planner showed up and said, "Oh, you guys go on after the horse club."  We are all going, WHAT HORSE CLUB?  Has anyone noticed that we are on bicycles?????????????

Anyway, the horses went out followed by a woman with a big bucket and two girls with shovels, followed by 28 avid bicyclists.  The crowd cheered and no one fell down, we got our T Shirts and the Cardinals won 6/5 so it was a good night.

lola330