Fall River Balcony Collapse

Started by Mom70x7, May 06, 2007, 06:16:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

davecoinc.

Hello everyone, I'm a deck builder in wichita and I saw a part of the channel 10 report. As someone said before, I hope there is a "BUNCH OF LAWSUITS". What most people don't realize that for every 2foot square on a deck, should hold one 160 lb person. So a 10' x 20' deck should hold about 50 people before it would collapse. So the Sheriff didn't know what he was saying when he thought it was overloaded. Most law enforcement personal say the same thing when they respond to a deck collapse. The only way to really overload a properly constructed deck is to put a hot tub or a portable swimming pool on it. So I'm willing to bet that the deck was not built right. I like to study deck collapses. So if some pics become available or other info, I'd sure like to hear about it. Thanks, David

Janet Harrington

Davecoinc.,  When I watched KAKE on the report that Chris Frank gave, I could see the house and where the deck had been attached to the house.  If you get a chance to see that video, you will see that it does not appear that any siding tore loose from the house.  Talking to a contractor here in Howard, he said that it looked like the deck did not have any leg bolts? (is that the word I'm looking for)?

If the deck had been built and secured properly, it would not have pulled loose from the house.  I do know the name of the contractor that put the deck on.  I will share that with you if you want to send me an e-mail at janet_harrington@sbcglobal.net

I also know that the house was either a modular or a double-wide mobile.  It was not a house that was built on that property.  It was a house that was moved to the property and the deck attached.

Wilma