Answer This...

Started by Warph, March 31, 2014, 10:44:52 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Diane Amberg

The first one I remember, so I won't say. The second I think is one in six?

Warph

Bring on the first one, Diane...

and your answer to the second one:

The answer is: 1/36

For the first dice, there can be six possibilities. Similarly, for the second dice as well, there can be six possibilities.
Thus the total possibilities is 6 * 6 = 36.
The outcome we need is that the first comes up with a 2 and the second comes up with a 5. That is possible only in one possibility.
Therefore the required probability is 1/36

"Every once in a while I just have a compelling need to shoot my mouth off." 
--Warph

"If you don't have a sense of humor, you probably don't have any sense at all."
-- Warph

"A gun is like a parachute.  If you need one, and don't have one, you'll probably never need one again."

Diane Amberg

Ha! I'm Not good with numbers. The other had to do with the belt. It had a skinny blade already built into it that slowly worked it's way into him, but caused no obvious problem until he took his pants off to bathe. Then he bled out. The killer didn't have to actually be there to do the job. I hope that's close, as it is what I remember.

Warph

Solution:
The killer did not need to be present at the crime scene. He used sort of an artistic technique to kill the victim. The incision was made by the very fine and this incision blade which is barely visible to naked eyes. It was stuck in victim's belt at any random point of time and he did not feel much due to the extremely fine surface of the blade. When the man undressed, he had to remove his pants due to which the incision blade was removed from his body cutting finely in its way out.
In this manner, the victim dies with the extreme blood loss and there was no evidence left.