Exploding Primers???

Started by Blue Steel Traveller, May 11, 2006, 10:37:20 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blue Steel Traveller

I'm new at reloading so I decided to start out with the Lee Anniversary kit.  Anyway, I open up the box for the Auto-prime tool and there in big letters is:

Primers

Federal All DO NOT USE

It says "Other primers, especially FEDERAL, can explode with sufficient force to seriously injure the user, or persons nearby".

and guess which brand of primers I picked up when I kitted out??

So, does anyone have any experience with this situation??  Any advice??

Jubel

I understand that some primers are softer than others and perhaps that's the issue here. I use either Winchester or Magtech primers and have for years using the same setup you have, with no problems.
Cousin we been ashooten at each other all day! How about we stop for a beer then we kin go home and get our axes. Or just as good, lets forget this whole dang feud, I'm agetten too old for this anyhow!

Micheal Fortune

Yep, Lee says the same thing concerning all of their equipment, "Don't use Federal Primers"

I use the Lee Loadmaster Progressive press.  Federal primers are copper colored, they don't feed well.  I use CCI as they are chrome they feed well.

Wish I would of saved up for a Dillon but I have loaded may thousands of round with me Lee.
Saloon Keeper, Gambler, Shootist
Sun River Rangers Shooting Society / SASS 60159 / R.O.-1 / SBSS 1685 / G.O.F.W.G. 89 / RATS 58 / KGC 4 /

Four-Eyed Buck

Mike, The Wins. are copper colored and don't slide well in LEE's. Federal's, CCI's and I believe Remington's are silvery. I use a LEE PRO 1000 and a LEE hand primer and use Federals.....Carefully. More attention to the priming stroke averts some problems, the cups are softer on the Federals and will crush easier if you're not careful. I also have an SDB, and it doesn't like CCI's. It will run Feds and Wins okay....Buck 8) ::) ;)
I might be slow, but I'm mostly accurate.....

Delmonico