Author Topic: Lower Recoil .45 Commercial Loads?  (Read 9250 times)

Offline jambie

• Citizen
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Lower Recoil .45 Commercial Loads?
« on: February 28, 2006, 07:10:27 PM »
I'm new to CAS and shot my SA .45's the other day for the first time using Winchester and Black Hills cowboy loads, both 250 gr. RNFP. Both seemed pretty accurate, tending to shoot a little high of point of aim at 25 yds. I know, I know, that's pretty far for CAS, but I was on the pistol range, so no choice. Anyway, I noticed that the Black Hills loads produced SIGNIFICANTLY more recoil than the Winchester. Both functioned perfectly in my USFA revolvers and my Henry Big Boy rifle. That rifle is a sweet shooter, very smooth right out of the box, and very accurate using a Marbles tang sight I installed.

My question is this: I'm going to mail order some more ammo, and will get the Winchester, unless someone here can recommend an even lower recoil load still suitable for steel targets. Again, I'm just getting started, and haven't been able to shoot with anyone else involved in CAS yet, so please forgive any newbie gaffs in this message.

Regards,
Little Calumet Tom

Offline Big John Denny

• Top Active Citizen
  • Liked:
Re: Lower Recoil .45 Commercial Loads?
« Reply #1 on: February 28, 2006, 08:16:44 PM »
I believe what you found was that Winchester loads it's 45 Colt to fire safely in the older model Colt SAA, hence the less recoil. It should work just fine for any SASS/CAS match.

I shoot nothing but 45 Colt in my western guns, and like it a lot. I reload, so I can load about any level I need. After you've been fully hooked on our game, you'll probably get into reloading as well. It really does save money over store bought 45 Colt.

Good luck and good shooting to you.
Big John Denny, SASS 64775
US Army Retired
Los Vaqueros
BOLD #661
GOFWG #240
SBSS #1780 (Order of the Golden Bullet)
NMLRA
NRA
"Aim small....Miss small"

Offline Cyrille

• Top Active Citizen