Feathering

Started by ConfederateNorth, February 06, 2012, 03:37:10 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

ConfederateNorth

Ok, I don't wanna sound like a sissy or a tenderfoot, but here we go.
I work with my hands and get dirty for a living, so callouses I have in spades. I've been bit by the Cowboy bug BAD and have become reacquainted with my Ruger Bearcat. It's the only SA gun I have, but I've been fooling around (UNLOADED) with my draw style and today took a swing at feathering.
By catching the hammer wih my off hand around the metacarpal area I could dry fire mighty fast, but dang if it didn't hurt like heck.

Am I using the wrong part of my hand? Should I smooth out the knurling on the hammer? Should I just put on a pair of big boy pants and just suck it up?

And suggestions, especially from the Quick Draw crowd, and I'd be much obliged.
I saw this in a movie once, and I'm pretty sure I can pull it off...

Two-Step

I am far from an expert on the matter but it sounds to me like you are using the correct part of your hand for "feathering". With out actually seeing how and where you are slapping the hammer, I don't know that I can offer much help, other than saying that you may need to lessen your sensitivity. I don't think that a skin callus is going to help much as the pain you are feeling is probably at the muscle and tendon level (like a stone bruise), rather than skin level.

Something else I thought of is that in your rush to feather, you could actually be hitting the frame of your revolver or slapping your hammer at a poor angle. Like I said, with out actually seeing what and how you are doing it, I don't think that I can offer any suggestions of much value.

Also, you probably don't want to suffer a tendon callus as they can be rather painful and decrease the flexibility in your hand. I know, as I have managed to acquire just that condition... mine seems to be hereditary rather than injury induced.