Newest project

Started by Pappy Hayes, August 01, 2011, 06:55:08 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Pappy Hayes

This is my first attempt at doing a lot of carving. I used Will Ghormley's pattern. It is holding my 1860 Army. Sorry I could not get a very good picture of it.

Kid Terico

Pappy nice job of carving and great color. KT

mtgelaude

Great job on that holster.  I really like Slim Jims, there is somthing about them.  Nice color, hat did you use to color it?  I also like the carving, how was it done?  A knife is my guess.

Long Juan

Very nice indeed, Pappy.  
CAPT John (Long Juan) Soule
Texican Rangers, Fredericksburg, Texas
Plum Creek Shooting Society, Lockhart, Texas
SASS #84671 NCOWS #3322 STORM #368
GAF #737,  Department of Missouri, Division of Texas
www.tarryhollowgang.com

Ten Wolves Fiveshooter

Pappy you did a fantastic job on this holster, you have come a long ways, keep up the great work.

tEN wOLVES  ;D
NRA, SASS# 69595, NCOWS#3123 Leather Shop, RATTS# 369, SCORRS, BROW, ROWSS #40   Shoot Straight, Have Fun, That's What It's All About

Boothill Bob

Pappy. Its a lovely holster pard. Nice color..
Shoot fast and aim straight

SASS#83079 SWS#1246

Johnny McCrae

Howdy Pappy,
Very nice! Many thanks for sharing this with us.
You need to learn to like all the little everday things like a sip of good whiskey, a soft bed, a glass of buttermilk,  and a feisty old gentleman like myself

Slowhand Bob

Pappy, an overall nice looking holster and I am really partial to the Slim Jims.  The color is really beautiful and I wonder if you would share with us?  Which dye and color did you use and how did you apply it?

Irish Dave

Great job, Pappy. I like it.
Dave Scott aka Irish Dave
NCOWS Marshal Retired
NCOWS Senator and Member 132-L
Great Lakes Freight & Mining Co.
SASS 5857-L
NRA Life

irishdave5857@aol.com

WaddWatsonEllis

Pappy,

I thought you might like a little history on your California Slim Jim holster ...