Period Correct Shoots

Started by Cherokee Reb, July 21, 2011, 04:09:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Cherokee Reb

I am fairly new to NCOWS , having been involved in other aspects of historic reenacting for many, many years and just wondered if some clubs put on a strictly period correct shoot?

I realize that allowances must be made for safety, but they could be discrete. Having been involved in events like Ft Boonesborrough, Ft Harrod , Kokomah etc, where we would set up for days to a week without ever having anything non-18th century visible in an entire camp, how hard would it be to do the same for a one day shoot. Proper folding chairs would replace the nylon pop up thingies, and we would have to forgo the plastic canopy for shade. Folks would need to acquire and use period correct mugs/cups/cans to drink from and get rid of those nasty modern cigarettes, but it could be done.

When I was first getting involved, the example was given that SASS is for shooters who dress up like cowboys and NCOWS was for historic cowboy reenactors who shoot. As far as that, I think with the target ranges and most folks using BP, NCOWS shoots are much more of a challenge than pushing over targets with the muzzle of your revolvers ;D. I would just like to be able to look over the whole scene without the modern clutter we bring to it. Believe me, getting items to use from the 1860-1880s is much simpler and cheaper than finding correct gear for the F&I and Rev War eras.

Guess I'm incurable romantic when it comes to the past. Heavy sigh.....
Member SASS,NCOWS and Knob Creek Regulators

Deadeye Don

You are not alone.  Oh, and please leave the pastic water bottles at home.
Great Lakes Freight and Mining Company

Stillwater

Thread counters...!   ::)

Bill

Major 2

when planets align...do the deal !

Tjackstephens