Making an 1860 reliable enough to shoot SASS

Started by Papa Irish, January 30, 2011, 12:14:36 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Papa Irish

I bought my first PB gun, an 1860 Army from Uberti.  I went out to shoot it several times and am not at all satisfied that it will be reliable enough to shoot SASS.  Are there some tips, trick or things I can do to make it more reliable?.  I am using CCI #11 caps and Pyrodex P.  The problems I have experienced are:  Caps popping and powder not getting ignited, caps not popping on the first try, but working the second time.  Caps spliting and coming off to jam the gun.  All help is greatly appreciated. ???
Papa Irish
"Smile when you say that pardner"

Cemetery

I'm new to the Cap and Ball realm myself, but when you mention that the caps need a 2nd go around before they go off, are finding them hard to seat the 1st time?

My first tin of caps were CCI #10 and I was having that very problem, but I got my hand on Remington #10 and they go on, and stay on.

I also got a set of Treso nipples to help reduce the blowback through the nipple, which can kick the spent cap off the nipple.

As a little tip, I learned that caps should all be a uniform color on the inside, for example Remington's are green, and the discolored ones should get put to the side for practice, since they may go off when you need them to, and these questionable caps will only fail when the timer goes beep.

just my $0.02, your mileage may vary.
God forgives, I don't........

Fingers McGee

Treso Nipples and #10 Remingtons is the best nipple/cap combination I've found in 12 years of SASS competition.  Lubed wads, fffg real BP, and .454 balls round out the loadings.  A complete teardown and tune up using Pettifoggers how-to instructions will also help make your charcaol burner a reliable piece.

http://www.theopenrange.net/articles/Tuning_the_Pietta_Part_One.pdf

http://www.theopenrange.net/articles/Tuning_the_Pietta_Part_Two.pdf