Started my holsters tonight, and making progress!

Started by ogreshooter, November 06, 2010, 01:14:13 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

ogreshooter

Finally decided that I would not be happy unless I built my own gear. Since I have never worked leather before, figured I would start simple with a pair of lined holsters. Sure, sounds good to me. Jump in feet first, or head first, take your pick.

Again, started simple. I unstitched one of my Galco holsters because I like the design, although they have always been a bit short. I shoot 5.5" Ruger OMV's, and the barrel sticks out about 1/2", and I don't like that.

Next, I did not like the height of the front face of the holster, so I copied my Bianchi holster opening. So, I think I finally have what I like. Next is to make sure my guns fit, then one more template to make sure the backing of the holster is good. Will post more pics as I get going.

I made sure that I had enough template material so if any changes needed to be made I could. Currently the pattern is 3/8" wider than the original holster. Just wanted to make sure I had enough room to incorporate the lining.

Lining is going to 4-5 oz veggie tanned with a 9-10 oz outer shell. Barge cement for gluing together, speedy stitcher for stitching duty, dremel for cutting the stitch holes. I may also try two needles and hand stitching, will see when I get there. Getting ready to snow here, so I have tons of time.

Till next time,
Homburg Wally

Johnny McCrae

Howdy HW,

Welcome to the Leather Shop. You will find this Forum to be a wonderful source of help, information and encouragement.