Which flavor of 1873 Rifle?

Started by Modoc, April 11, 2010, 05:40:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Modoc

OK, I've been playing the game for a few years and am now getting frustrated with my rifle and am wondering which importer of 1873 in 357 I should buy.  I have not decided on whether to get the Rifle, Short (border) Rifle or Carbine having all three in 1892s.  I am not looking at putting a short stroke in and will be doing my own smithing for cleaning it up since I learned on restoring a Navy Arms Henry to shooting condition. So Which one and why?
Modoc

"He Who Laughs Last, Thinks Fastest"
SUDDS, SCORRS, Retired Warthog, Sometime Gunfighter, and Soot Deliante

Ten Wolves Fiveshooter

For an 1873 rifle my vote is for Uberti, if Uberti is what you're looking for it doesn't really matter which importer, they're all Uberti's, and I haven't seen a bad one yet.

Regards

tEN wOLVES  :D
NRA, SASS# 69595, NCOWS#3123 Leather Shop, RATTS# 369, SCORRS, BROW, ROWSS #40   Shoot Straight, Have Fun, That's What It's All About

Jefro

Quote from: Ten Wolves Fiveshooter on April 11, 2010, 06:55:20 PM

For an 1873 rifle my vote is for Uberti, if Uberti is what you're looking for it doesn't really matter which importer, they're all Uberti's, and I haven't seen a bad one yet.

Regards

tEN wOLVES  :D
Yep, the main difference is customer service, and the folks at Taylor's are hard to  beat. Good Luck.
http://www.taylorsfirearms.com/

Jefro
sass # 69420....JEDI GF #104.....NC Soot Lord....CFDA#1362
44-40 takes a back seat to no other caliber

Fairshake

If you buy a Uberti 73 you might want to look at the Cowboy Shop which is run by Cody Congher. He only charges $250 and uses your parts, no aluminum carriers.