Business Related question - How do you figure your price??

Started by Dalton Masterson, February 20, 2010, 12:46:50 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Dalton Masterson

Howdy gents.

Without getting into details as to what you charge, how do you set your price for gear?

Do you have a set price for a basic holster, and then add a certain price for embellishments?

Do you count your time? I couldnt charge for time myself, as it sometimes takes me forever, but I am also a hobbyist and try not to get into the time constraints too much.

Do you figure in your leather cost and materials? I cover my costs as far as that goes, but the hard costs are not foremost in my mind.

If you would be willing, I would be interested in an example of what you charge for a basic holster and belt, so I can get an idea. Keep in mind, I dont want to undercut anyone and bring bad business practices into this wonderful forum relationship, but I have a feeling I have been very low on a few projects in the past, and would like to figure out how to get more out of my stuff.
Just PM me the info, if you wish, so it doesnt pollute the forum.

Thank you, DM

SASS #51139L
Former Territorial Governor of the Platte Valley Gunslingers (Ret)
GAF (Bvt.) Major in command of Battalion of Western Nebraska
SUDDS 194--Double Duelist and proud of it!
RATS #65
SCORRS
Gunfighting Soot Lord from Nebrasky
44 spoke, and it sent lead and smoke, and 17 inches of flame.
https://www.facebook.com/Plum-Creek-Leatherworks-194791150591003/
www.runniron.com

cowboywc

Howdy Pal
Every year I search a bunch of web sites and adjust my prices to be in the ballpark.
WC
Leather by WC / Standing Bear's Trading Post

GunClick Rick

All i know is ya gotta pay yourself first,so much per hour.Another thing is you guys outta get a bunch for what you do,made in the U.S. and quality you can't find anymore..Cept here of course :)
Bunch a ole scudders!

outrider