Gear for CAS

Started by shooter Mike, December 10, 2009, 03:08:26 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

shooter Mike

Hi, I'm a newbie to CAS. I am going to start shooting with some really nice people in the spring. I know about the guns I need and I have started to build a cart. What I don't know is what type of bullet holders, shotgun shell holders and any other gear bags etc. I might need. I should mention that I am in a wheel chair so the "normal" gunbelt etc probably won't work. I appreciate any help you can offer. Thanks, Mike

Pancho Peacemaker

Mike,

The answers to this question will have some variation depending on the club you shoot with.  My club (and most CAS clubs) would do everything possible to accomidate your wheel chair.  If you were shooting at our club, here's a few ideas:

1) Nix the gun cart.  We have enough gun racks at each stage to hold your long guns.  We have many shooters who shoot at our range without a cart.  They carry their ammo and other necessities in a saddle bag.

2) Get some saddle bags.  Do a search on eBay.  You can find a nice set cheap. 

3) Talk to a leather maker about a custom gun rig to fit your wheel chair.  This forum has some very talented leather makers.  I'd recommend you post a note over on the "Leather Shop" sub forum here.  I'll bet you get some great ideas from those guys about a way to string a rig on your wheel chair.  You'll need:  2 revolver holsters a way to hold some shotshells.  SASS allows you to hold your shotshells in 2 shot leather 'cups' on your belt.   You can also use a more traditional single loop shotshell belt.  Some folks simply carry their shotshells in their vest pocket(s).  Most common stages will only need 6 or fewer shotshells.

4) For a "bullet holder" most folks ferry their ammo to the loading table with a simple pouch.  Lots of shooters use the velvet bag you get with a Crowne Royal bottle.  I use an old tobacco pouch.