Home made knife and sheath

Started by Josh Dabney, October 22, 2009, 02:59:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Josh Dabney

I'm just getting started making knives and sheaths but I'm about to finish my 5th.
here are a few shots of # 2
Knife- 4" blade of O1 carcbon tool steel, curly maple hande with brass wire inlay, brass bolsters.
Sheath- inlayed with buckskin and tooled on back

All comments welcome
-Josh

Josh Dabney

Hear's a little sneak peak of #5 Knife

Dave Cole

Pards, Josh works with me alot,and I am helping him with leatherwork.He is finishing up the sheath on the bottom one and should have that one up soon.It will look good.Josh is also very talented with scrimshaw.Dave ;D

Ten Wolves Fiveshooter

Josh that's mighty fine work all around, you have a lot of talent to be able to produce pieces like this, Thanks for the look see.

Regards

tEN wOLVES  ;) :D ;D
NRA, SASS# 69595, NCOWS#3123 Leather Shop, RATTS# 369, SCORRS, BROW, ROWSS #40   Shoot Straight, Have Fun, That's What It's All About

Kid Terico

Josh, nice work ,I like it. Whats up with all these nice knives and sheaths. I,m still trying to learn how to make holsters. Darned if I,ll try knives also. Keep them comming.  To many good artists on this site like Ned, Dave ect I can order from.KT  :o ::)

Marshal Will Wingam

That's some darn good work, Josh. I really like the way you carried the handle inlay design into the sheath tooling. It's a very good look. I love to see tools and leather match to make a completed set. Do you set the inlaid wire by cutting a line first or just tap them in? Thanks for the pics.

Welcome to the forum. Looking forward to more of your work.

SCORRS     SASS     BHR     STORM #446

Gun Butcher

Beautiful work there Josh, I suspect some muzzleloader influence in you decorating talents.
Lost..... I ain't never been lost...... fearsome confused fer a month er two once... but I never been lost.
Life is a Journey, the best that we can find in our travels is an honest friend.