19th Century Pack Saddle Frame?

Started by Ottawa Creek Bill, July 04, 2009, 10:59:47 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Ottawa Creek Bill

Anyone have access to a 19th century pack saddle frame pattern? I am particularly looking for a frame suitable for the period 1868-1874. Your help would greatly be appreciated. Historical accuracy and documentation is very important.

Bill
Vice Chairman American Indian Council of Indianapolis
Vice Chairman Inter tribal Council of Indiana
Member, Ottawa-Chippewa Band of Indians of Michigan
SASS # 2434
NCOWS # 2140
CMSA # 3119
NRA LIFER

Don Nix

What do you want sawbuck,decker or artillery?
I have an old  US Army artillert Pack saddle. and i can fix you up with a sawbuck  or decker pattern probably. Ill just haveto run them down for dimensions as I havent built one in a while but thier not hard to throw together.

Ottawa Creek Bill

Don......I'm not an expert on pack saddles, that's why I asked that the pattern could be documented. I'm looking for a pack saddle that hide hunter in the late 1860's, early 1870's Kansas would have used. These are going to be working props for a movie. Appreciate it.

Bill
SASS # 2434
NCOWS # 2140
CMSA # 3119
NRA LIFER

Don Nix

Prior to  closing my shop in town  I was a saddler with a little experience. I was a master saddler that worked with the Regional Arts Council and the Arkansas Arts council as a historian on ranching heritage and culture. I worked as a grantee of the National Endoewment for the Arts  apprecnticeship program teaching saddlemaking.
I did restorative work for various collectors and museums on 19th century saddles tack and harness. Most of this work was done over twenty years ago . For years  I provided the research  material for publications and authors seeking factual information.