Jaeger Rifle sling

Started by Gun Butcher, May 31, 2009, 09:06:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gun Butcher

OK, it ain't CAS but it is a leather question. I just finished a Jaeger rifle and I am trying to find some idea of the correct style of sling to go with it.
I am hoping some of you historical types can weigh in and give me some kind of direction as to where to look, or ideas. If I don't come up with a period correct style then I am going to go with a 1 1/2" wide tooled single length strap.

Anyway tell me what you think.
Lost..... I ain't never been lost...... fearsome confused fer a month er two once... but I never been lost.
Life is a Journey, the best that we can find in our travels is an honest friend.

Doc O

What I use on mine are 1 1/2" and 2" hemp web. It's nothing fancy but I like it.
Doc

Freedom

I am not an expert but the one I have and the ones I have seen have all had a metal horseshoe style front hoop and a large caridge head style metal, screw in, button post (3/4-1") for the rear attatchement. The slings were usually more narrow than 1 1/2"...the top is run threw the horse shoe and laced and the rear is just a virtical slit that fits over the caridge button.

Gun Details!!... Flinter, caliber, ....PICTURES.?.. very nice to see hand made smokepoles ;D Glad to here you made your own and in one of my favorite styles too! :D :o
www.7xleather.com ...Cowboy and Muzzle loading Gear

Doc O

Just keep in mind  a Jaeger is not a light rifle and if you go to narrow on your sling your shoulder will let you know in short order.
You can always narrow it at the swivels if need be.
And ya lets see some pictures.

Gun Butcher

Thanks for the ideas. I suppose the sling should be plain but the rifle is not so I was thinking of doing some tooling.
here are a couple of pictures. Hope you approve.
  It's a .58 cal, tapered and swamped barrel. The stock came from a tree in my old hometown of Spencer, Wis.