First attempt

Started by FEATHERS, May 05, 2009, 11:48:40 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

FEATHERS

Hi all,I am new to leatherwork & new to the forum,I am posting a pic of my first project a pair of chaps I made for my daughter,after practicing for about 10 months with my tools on scrap leather & getting used to the feel of them,I felt confident enough to jump straight in.The colour is saddle tan & black water proof marker in the background & it is hand stitched.As I live in Australia I am limited with doing any courses here,but I have a lot of books from lucky 7 up to clint fay.So any comments & any hints on my tooling will be great.Feathers

Freedom

WOW Feathers!!! Tha tooling practice really paid off!  The depth you created into that center floral looks like you could serve soup from it!!

One thing I would add..if you use a bag punch and run your front buckle strap threw the slot and then rivet it, you get a much stronger hold...The rivet will give "shear" strength instead of just pullin on the head....    That being said, a lot of guys want the strap to fail in case they ever get it hung up on something (saddle horn) during a wreck. don't know if that is what you had in mind , but just a suggestion..

Very fine workmanship ;)
www.7xleather.com ...Cowboy and Muzzle loading Gear

Marshal Will Wingam

That's really good, Feathers. The contrasting background really works with that tooling. Nice work. I referred to that lucky 7 book for years when I'd tool something. Looks like it worked for you really well. Thanks for sharing.

SCORRS     SASS     BHR     STORM #446

FEATHERS

Hi guys,Thanks very much for the comments,just finding this forum has inspired me to keep up this beautiful art.Feathers

cowboywc

Howdy Feathers
Very nice job.
WC
P.S.
Do you know about this?
http://www.dimensionsinleather.com/
Leather by WC / Standing Bear's Trading Post

FEATHERS