After Dye -- Sealing the Leather

Started by Patrick Henry Brown, January 17, 2009, 11:19:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Patrick Henry Brown

Another question! Remember, I'm a newbie here.  My leather has been cased, tooled, dyed and edges burnished. I know I need to seal it -- right now I'm finishing the gun belt. I especially want to be sure that the dye on the backside doesn't bleed into my clothing. This rig is unlined -- belt and holsters. I have some Resoline on order, but have been reading and wondering if there are other, maybe better alternatives. Looked at the FAQ sections under leather care and saw posts about EVOO and beeswax. I actually use that combo with a little Canola oil for lubing my BPCR bullets as well as my SASS BP Big Lube Bullets. The dye I used is Feibing's Spirit Based Dye in Burgundy. Love the color and will post some pictures when I'm finished.

So any suggestions? Does everyone use Resoline, or is there something else I can use instead that might be available at my local store?

cowboy316

Preacher
    Ive always used tan cote with all my work and have put several coats on and havent seamed to have any trouble with it bleeding threw  but who knows i dont know all the tricks lol
               Cowboy316

RollingThunder

I'ved used waxes and i've used super sheen as well. I believe the first project i worked on was a set of old-time spur straps that I used EcoFlo super sheen on. Since then I've used waxes to great effect, and it gives a much more mellow shine. The upkeep tends to be a little bit more if you use those items heavily (as I do), but it's worth it.
Just because you CAN ride the hide off a horse, doesn't mean you should.

http://www.youtube.com/artroland - The home of Backyard Horsemanship!

T.C. Grant

RT- When you say waxes what exactly are you talking about?  Are you using a specific leather type wax or just ordinary beewax? 
I've never used wax but I would like to try it out. 

RollingThunder