Newbie lookin for load info.

Started by Scorpion, January 08, 2009, 02:26:05 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Scorpion

Howdy pards and pardettes,

I'm new to c&b shootin, but I've been loading .45 smokeless (I know, I know) for awhile. Based on my limited research, I think a decent load might be 25g's of 777fffg under a 457 ball. No filler, no wad, no grease and #10 Rem caps in my 58 Pietta Remmies.

How close am I?

Thanks fer yer input.

Scorpion

Logan Hawke

Howdy and once once again welcome!!

You will get a lot of help from the wonderful people on here. I am no expert at all compared to some of the other pards on here but I will give you what I know. The load you have described will work in a perfect world ;)...meaning that if your gun likes it, go with it.  I shoot Piettas myself (love them) and I actually shoot .454 balls and wads on top of 30 grains of Goex FFFg with remington #11 caps. (Wal-Mart clearance for 1.50 per pack ;D) The #11's fit the factory nipples on my gun perfect...although that might change when I switch out to some new nipples.

It's all trial and error and figuring out what your guns like the best.
"NO DAMN MAN KILLS ME AND LIVES"

SASS# 57291, SCORRS, NRA, WartHog,  C.S.A.

Willie Dixon

Hey Scorpion, I'm a noob too so no worries there.   Here's a great website with a ton of info on shooting black powder. 
http://www.curtrich.com/frontiersmen.html

I'm former USCG so I know all about .45! LOL