Pronged nickel spots - How?

Started by RRio, March 09, 2008, 09:44:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

RRio

I have an old rig that needs refurbishing, and have it in my head to dye it black and add silver ornamentation on it. However, I've never used the pronged spots before. How do ya set them? ???

Thanks!
"I hate rude behavior in a man. I won't tolerate it"  - Capt. Woodrow Call

"Proud citizen of CasCity since 2004." 
NCOWS 2492  SASS 22927   SCORRS     USFACS #28       GAF #267 Dept. of the Platte  AZ        STORM #178

Ten Wolves Fiveshooter

Howdy Rawhide RIO

It's not hard , if you have a holster thats made out of 8 to 9 or 9 to 10 ounce leather you can do this but if what you want to put the spots on is over the thickness of 10 ounce leather , you won't be able to do this without skiving the leather down to make it thiner, you could do this on a start from scratch project , but you wouldn't want to do this on one that is finished, when putting on spots on a lined belt or holster , you want to put them on the outside layer of leather , then when lined it wont show through the back, but it doesn't have to be lined, to put the spots on I just think it looks better , if you do this on unlined leather you want to make sure you get the tines pounded down enough so that they won't scratch the finish of your gun.