Loading 58 Conversions

Started by Deadlight Lou, February 17, 2008, 10:38:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deadlight Lou

I need the help of this collected brain trust! I'm fairly new to shooting in general, so I'm still feeling my way around.

I have a 58 Remington Conversion that I got through Taylor's. With the heavy back plate it is difficult to tell where the empty chamber is once it is loaded.

The observers at the loading table are starting to get skittish when I load because they can't reliably figure it out either. I've already gotten the stern talking to about having the hammer on a live round (yes, I've made that mistake once already!)

A second question: what purpose does the back plate serve? Can any of it be milled off so the cylinder can be more easily viewed?

Suggestions? Warnings? Mild cajoling?

Thanks!

Deadlight Lou
143rd Fastest Gun East of Mrs. Hip

Hell-Er High Water

What I did for an early R&D conversion cylinder on 1858 revolver, where you can't see any of the cartridge rims, is to make an epoxy dummy cartridge.  You can cast this right in one of the chambers with a well oiled chamber so it is removable when wanted.  I made it flush with the front of the cylinder and painted this end a bright orange so that it was readily visiable.

When loaded with five live rounds and this dummy round if, with the revolver pointed in a safe direction, you can not see this bight orange dummy, you and the loading observer know that it is lined up with the barrel and the hammer.

Be sure that the loading observer knows what he/she should be looking before you start loading the revolver.

This has worked for me with no questions asked.

HHW

Deadlight Lou

I may be seeing one of the local members on Friday who is also owner of the range we shoot at. I will ask his opinion of the dummy round.

Thanks, HHW.

The General

HHW, that is a fantastic idea.  Thanks for the insight.