Old Time Saddle - Begginning an adventure

Started by Flinch Morningwood, February 07, 2008, 03:57:16 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Flinch Morningwood

Well, we talk enough about gun leather here I thought I might open up another topic...

I have a friend who rides and is after me to make an "old time" saddle...he has found some pictures in "Cowboys and Trappings of the Old West" of some saddles he likes...mostly the Northern plains versions...

I have never built a saddle before (And he knows this) but have been leatherworking for about 15 years and haven't found anything I haven't been able to figure out (yet)...

I have ordered a copy of SADDLEs by Russel Beatie as a starting point.  I have heard that the Saddle Making Series By Al Stohlman is pretty good...does anyone have first hand knowledge of it?   Any other books people might recommend?

Any pards out there with experience in this type of this want to allow me to bounce questions off them as they arise?

I am kind of excited about this but want to make sure I do my homework and have an someone to go to with questions...
"I'll kill a man in a fair fight. Or if I think he's gonna start a fair fight."

- Jayne Cobb

cowboywc

Howdy Little Al
I have made one slick fork saddle. It is a pony size. I am ordering a full size tree today for the saddle contest
in Sheridan in May.
I have many books and videos on saddle making and that was a mistake for my first time. Get one and that way
you won't get confused by many different views. I like Bill Gomers video the best.
Hope this helps.
WC
Leather by WC / Standing Bear's Trading Post

will ghormley

Hey Little Al,