Where can I go to find out more about an old holster?

Started by Compass Will, January 25, 2008, 07:25:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Compass Will

Trying to ID a hoster, not sure where to ask?  I assume its from the 1880's - 1900?
The gun is a 1st model S&W DA in 44 Russian.  Thinking of selling both to get another SAA.
( I need one more gun if I want to shoot my first match this year)
The smith said its real tight, and that I should shoot it, but its not Single action  ;)
If you think I would be better asking somewhere else let me know where.
who knows, it might be worth more then the gun.
Thanks

SASS 79000

Charlie Bowdre

Hi , Although I am no expert I just did a bit of research on a belt and holster for a friend , It was an old  'cowboy rig' as he called it , was hanging in his basement . I started by searching on line , use  Google or any search engine . Check for Holsters Antiques and that should start it off for you . It will list some dealers who may be able to help.

The old rig my pard had , belonged to his G/Grandfather and as near as we can determine was a HH Heisler , circa 1880 1900. In real good shape and  Mucho Valuable , So ya never know.
Good Luck
Dutchie
"I'm too old to go soldiering any more , too stiff in the joints to ride point and too dam fat to wrestle drunks Any day they don't pat you on the face with a shovel is a good one"

BOLD 887 
Bvt.Major  Chaplain  GAF  502 
STORM 271 
SASS 87747
CHINOOK COUNTRY

Sir Charles deMouton-Black

Maybe its just me, but I wouldn't sell that one!   How about giving up cigarettes, whiskey, & wild wild women until you have the $$$$$ to buy another gun?
NCOWS #1154, SCORRS, STORM, BROW, 1860 Henry, Dirty Rat 502, CHINOOK COUNTRY
THE SUBLYME & HOLY ORDER OF THE SOOT (SHOTS)
Those who are no longer ignorant of History may relive it,
without the Blood, Sweat, and Tears.
With apologies to George Santayana & W. S. Churchill

"As Mark Twain once put it, "History doesn't repeat itself, but it does rhyme."