Question about shooting Uberti lever action rifles

Started by Montana Ed, July 21, 2007, 04:37:21 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Montana Ed

Hi Folks: New forum member here. I'm fairly new to shooting in general and definitely new to shooting lever action rifles. I have a few questions I'm hoping you good folks could help me out with:
1) The other evening at the range one of the guys I was with (who has years of shooting experience under his belt and is a guy I respect) pointed out to me a few things that he thought were troublesome: the spent casings from most of my 45 LC bullets have black stains on them after being discharged (I have two Ubertis - a Yellowboy and a 20" Sporter 1873). Upon closer inspection, he also pointed out to me that both rifles are also discharging a small amount of black smoke upon firing from the back of the barrels (where you can insert single bullets if you want to). He told me this shouldn't be happening and it's indicative that gasses are escaping from the barrel when I shoot. So, do you guys have this happen with your rifles too? Is this dangerous? Is it impacting my rifles' accuracy? I am shooting with ten-x ammo. Could that have anything to do with it (since it was happening in both rifles)? Is this something I need to get corrected immediately or is this just the way these guns shoot and it's nothing to be concerned about?

2) Can anyone explain to me how to clean the lever action and the whole back assembly of these rifles? Uberti had no informaton in their packaging. Is it important to clean this area everytime you shoot? I treasure these rifles and want them to last.

Thank you folks, Montana Ed

Major 2

You will find this helpful
http://www.cascity.com/forumhall/index.php/topic,16101.0.html

you did not say what loads you are using but you might
try changing your loads...

when planets align...do the deal !

Will Blastem

Quote from: Montana Ed on July 21, 2007, 04:37:21 PM