Pietta Conversion

Started by The Avocado Kid, April 18, 2007, 08:08:47 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

The Avocado Kid

I have just picked up a New Model 1858 Army (Remy,Pietta) and I'm new to this gun and would like to add a drop-in cylinder of .45 or .44 cal-I know this can be done from reading some of the post on this forum BUT my question is this does the Pietta Remy work well for this conversion,I have always been a fan of Uberti but Cabela's had such a low price on this gun($199.99) I could not pass it by. I would love to hear your thoughts. Dusty.
"Holy smokes thats a lot of Indians!!".....General George Armstrong Custer 7th Cavalry

Halfway Creek Charlie

I had a late model 58 Remy from Pietta with a Kirst conversion cylinder in it and it worked very well. Old Baldy on this forum has it now(gunslinger 4 3/4") it was a "drop in non gated that I ported myself. The Pietta was bought used on Gunbroker and arrived in unfired condition. There was a boo boo( indentation under the front sight, like the sight was applied with undo pressure) in the bbl under the front sight and I whacked the bbl off because of it. It shot POA. A good gun.
I have owned 2 Kirst conversion cylinders one gated and one not. the gated one kept opening with the first shot. it was a distraction.

I now have had 4 R &D drop-in conversions and these are the ones with 6 firing pins. I tend to like them better than the Kirst with one firing pin, but only because the Kirst firing pin is staked into place and the R &D firing pins are held in with ferrules that can be removed to replace the firing ppins. Also I like the idea of dropping the cylinder out to load and unload ALA Clint in "Pale Rider" I can do that quicker than I can eject cartridges out of the Gated Kirst.

Having owned both I now prefer the R & D drop-ins.
All of mine, save one, were/are in 44 Rem/Colt C.F. cartridge. one was 45 LC.