44-40 vs 45LC for a Lady

Started by twhman, March 20, 2007, 06:03:52 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

twhman

Hello,

I have been reading this site for a few weeks.   The members here seem very friendly so I fiqure I would join so I am new to CAScity but I am not a stranger on other shooting forums.  I have a number of guns mostly shotguns for skeet and some modern pistols.

I have been trying to get my wife to shoot with me - and I have been slightly successful - she has a S&W 9mm that she will shoot occasionally and has no problem with the recoil.  However, I had the new Ruger catalog laying around and she came up to me the other morning asking me about a case hardend single action in 45LC.  She said she would be interested in a nice looking gun like that to shoot and asked if that would be to much gun for her.

I looked in my reloading manual and compared the 45LC to the 44mag and 44 special bullet weight and velocity and as I expected it was significantly less than both.  I told her I was not that familiar with 45LC so I was not sure but based on the ballistics it appeared like she could handle it.

Sorry for the long lead in; here is my question.  My wife likes the look of the older single action revolvers and would like to try shooting them.  We also have horses (TWHs) and she is a avid rider.  I fiqure I don't mind adding another gun to the collection but I want to know about 45LC - what is it like to shoot compared to a 9mm?  I also know that the 44-40 is out there too so that maybe another option.  As I said I am not that familiar with these older style guns and calibers so there maybe other options in more modern calibers in the older style guns that would be good for her.  She likes the looks of case hardend single actions.  (I on the other hand am looking at the new Ruger Redhawk 4" in 44 mag and maybe a Marlin 1894 in 44 mag as a companion.).