Spencer Carbine at Ranges over 100 yds

Started by matt45, February 22, 2007, 02:55:59 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

matt45

Hello the Camp.
     Well, a few of us just expended 28 rounds at 200 yards-  Armisport Carbine, 56-50
;) At 100 I was amazed at the accuracy of the weapon, considering the trigger and the sights.
At 200 I was holding (sights set at the 200 range) at the bottom of a old tailgate standing on edge, and on the left side... And sometimes I hit the top of the tailgate at the top right :-\
I am now out of bullets, and will get a 4'X8' sheet of plywood next.
My brother suggested shooting at the barn, and I can do it from the inside, if I think that will help ;)

PvtGreg

I have no experience with the Armi-Sport version.

With my Romano carbine, benched with my hand loads (315 gr flat nose with 30 gr tripple 7, milk carton wad, light compressed load) I get 6-8in groups, mostly 6s.  At 100 benched I get can get 2in groups.  It more depends on the care I take loading the rounds.  I have to use hard lead when casting the bullets.

Larry uses either a douglas or hoyt barrel (sorry I forget which) on his weapons.

PvtGreg

matt45

Whoee ;D- good shootin
Within 100 yards I did real good, and the general ballistics of the 56-50 are such that it should not deteriorate drastically between 100 and 200 yards.
Right now, I am molding and loading (we're calving, so my time is more limited than I would like).   >:(
What I want to do is get enough rounds together and see where the various steps on the ladder actually hit at center mass ::)
Anyone on this board been there done that, esp. concerning the originals ???

matt45

Hello the Camp (again) ::)
     Back out at 200, and again at 250.  My particular carbine shoots 8 inches (best) to just under 12.  That is when my eyes aren't watering, or the heat waves off the barrel aren't messing with my sight picture :P