Author Topic: Total Newbie question.  (Read 5682 times)

Offline kflach

• The Cockroach Kid
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #3258
    • Kevin Flach - Digital Communicator
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 0
Total Newbie question.
« on: July 17, 2009, 12:10:15 PM »
I'm a brand new BP 58 Remmy owner. I haven't been to any kind of organizational event yet with any organization, so please pardon my ignorance.

What is the difference between SASS, CAS, and NCOWS? I've seen the material on the web sites, but in practical, simple, real world terms, what's the difference?

Offline Books OToole

• NCOWS Member
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Michael Tatham
  • Liked:
  • Likes Given: 91
Re: Total Newbie question.
« Reply #1 on: July 17, 2009, 12:14:32 PM »
CAS = Cowboy Action Shooting
     That includes both SASS & NCOWS

SASS = Single Action Shooting Society

NCOWS = National Congress of Old West Shootists

[WAS = Western Action Shooting  (This is also a blanket term)]

SASS and NCOWS are two different CAS organizations with different rules and styles.

I hope that helps.

Books
G.I.L.S.

K.V.C.
N.C.O.W.S. 2279 - Senator
Hiram's Rangers C-3
G.A.F. 415
S.F.T.A.

Offline kflach

• The Cockroach Kid
  • Top Active Citizen
  • NCOWS #3258
  • Liked:
« Reply #2 on: July 17, 2009, 01:25:48 PM »
By styles do you mean one is more competitive and one is more social, do you mean they shoot different kinds of guns, or do you mean they have different types of competitions?

Advertising

« Reply #3 on: Today at 01:10:37 AM »

Offline Will Ketchum

• Chief of Detectives
  • Deputy Marshal
  • Top Active Citizen
  • Pete Ersland
  • SASS #: 4222
  • NCOWS #: 133
  • Liked:
« Reply #3 on: July 17, 2009, 01:43:12 PM »
By styles do you mean one is more competitive and one is more social, do you mean they shoot different kinds of guns, or do you mean they have different types of competitions?